Skip to content Skip to navigation

Four researchers receive AGU Outstanding Student Paper Awards

"AGU 100" in large letters at a conference hall
Mar 22 2020
Awards, Fellow, Research, Stanford, Students

Four Stanford Earth researchers have been selected to receive 2019 Outstanding Student Paper Awards (OSPAs) from the American Geophysical Union (AGU): PhD candidates Tyler Kukla, Chayawan (Earth) Jaikla, Indraneel (Neel) Kasmalkar, and Anna Broome.

The prestigious award is given to promote, recognize and reward undergraduate, Master’s and PhD students for quality research in the geophysical sciences. Typically, only the top 3 to 5 percent of student participants who present their research at the annual AGU Fall meeting are awarded an OSPA.

“Every year, our students push the boundaries of research across the board,” said Stephan Graham, the Chester Naramore Dean of the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences (Stanford Earth). “It’s great to see the next generation skillfully communicating these innovative ideas.”

The award winners include Indraneel (Neel) Kasmalkar, a 2015 Stanford Graduate Fellow, and Anna Broome, a 2018 EDGE-STEM Fellow.