Skip to content Skip to navigation

Clayman Institute Awards 2019 Yalom and Lozoff Prizes

profile photo of Luz M. Jiménez Ruvalcaba
Jun 10 2019
Awards, Research, Stanford, Students

The Clayman Institute announced the winners of this year’s Marilyn Yalom Prize and the Marjorie Lozoff Prize in May. The Yalom Prize awards $1,500 to support research or conference costs for students in the humanities conducting research concerning women and gender. The prize is named for former Clayman Institute Director and current Senior Scholar Marilyn Yalom, an internationally renowned author on literature and women’s history. The Lozoff Prize of $2,000 honors Marjorie Morse Lozoff and is given to a graduate student conducting research on issues related to Lozoff’s interests of furthering women's development for the benefit of women, men, children, and society.

Professor Michele Elam, director of Stanford’s Graduate Program in Modern Thought and Literature and former Clayman Institute faculty research fellow, described her nominee for the Yalom Prize, Luz M. Jiménez Ruvalcaba, as “one of our most exceptional students working on contemporary women’s issues through a feminist of color critical lens and humanist inquiry.” Jiménez Ruvalcaba (above left), a sixth-year PhD student in modern thought and literature, who also has completed a PhD minor in feminist, gender and sexuality studies, has been awarded the 2019 Yalom Prize for her dissertation research titled “Honest about Yesterday: Intimate Violence in 20th Century and Contemporary Latinx Literature.”

Jiménez Ruvalcaba’s dissertation, as described by Elam, “studies the ways in which domestic violence is represented—how it originates, develops and is manifested—in 20th and 21st century Latinx literature,” with the ultimate goal “of hop[ing] to offer literature as a touch stone that might help us further understand ourselves as members of a society founded upon the inherent violences of racial and gendered hierarchies.”

Yalom Prize recipient Luz M. Jiménez Ruvalcaba is a 2018 DARE Fellow, EDGE Mentor, and a recipient of the 2017 VPGE Academic Achievement Award for El Centro Chicano y Latino .

Read the full article